Post studying advice

I have just started AAT level 4 with the intention of starting my own business once finished. I am very aware however that I have no experience of day to day accounting since I have done all of my studies from home, I am considering popping along to the local accounting practices in my town and seeing if i can volunteer on the weekends to get myself some experience.
Is there any advice fellow AAT-ers can give on this either on starting up your own business or for my lack of experience?
Thanks in advance :)

Comments

• StuartW
    StuartW Registered Posts: 472 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    edited February 2015
    Hi Luke,

I'm sure experienced members will be able to advise from their points of view.

Aside from that, you might be interested to know that next year AAT will be running some events around the country entitled 'Be your own boss: AAT's guide to starting your own accountancy business'. There will be more info available nearer the time, but I can tell you that they will take place on the following dates:

Saturday March 21 2015: Milton Keynes

Saturday 20 June 2015: Peterborough

Saturday 3 October 2015: York

Saturday 7 November 2015: London

(I've now added links to more info and booking for these events.)
  • burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Luke,

There are a few things to consider. If you are approaching local practices and make your intentions clear (i.e. of starting your own practice) they may feel a little threatened in terms of a risk to losing clients. Volunteer that you will be willing to sign something to state you will not approach clients for a certain period.

The other issue I see is that most practices don't open on weekends so you may need to give up a weekday to be able to do this.