degree or acca

koolboi2007koolboi2007 Feels At HomeRegistered Posts: 32
Hi

Im in my final year of AAT at technician level and I have a place at university for accountancy and finance this september 2008.

Im really lost because i heard from some people that the degree is a waste of time and other people say that with a degree you can get a place in an accounting firm to train to become a chartered accountant.

I want to reach ACCA of course and i know i can get into it after AAT technician. I need to know whether to do the degree or go onto ACCA. I desperately need to know if doing the degree is a good career route because even after you do the ACCA you need experience to step into accountancy jobs.

All help is appreciated!

Comments

• coojeecoojee Experienced Mentor Registered Posts: 794
    Don't know that I can be of much help, but what I can tell you is that the exemptions you will get from ACCA or ACA are the same with the degree and the AAT qual. So it does seem pointless doing the degree as you will be no nearer where you want to be. You'd have to do 3 years on the degree and still only be exempt from the first stage of ACCA (not sure about exemptions for ACA). Having said all of that, some employers may look more favourably on you if you have a degree, particularly if you want to do ACA. It's just snobbery, but unfortunately it's often true. It's just a shame that you didn;t do the degree before you started the AAT! Can you not start part way through the degree course?
  • NeilHNeilH Trusted Regular Registered Posts: 540
    Hi

I assume you may be able to enter straight into the second year of the degree? It may be worth checking the ACCA exemptions available for your degree as it may afford you more exemptions than the AAT does.