Debits & Credits

matt27matt27 Just JoinedRegistered Posts: 3
Hi everybody I am new to the aat and have just started my certificate a couple of weeks ago. I am with kaplan financial in leicester.

Just a quick question that I would like to ask just to make 100% sure that i am right.

Am I correct in saying that debits are money going into an account, and credits are money going out of an account.

This is what i thought it is, but now am a bit unsure, so if anyone could help, I would be very grateful.

Many thanks
Matt

Comments

• MonsoonMonsoon Font Of All Knowledge FMAAT, AAT Licensed Accountant Posts: 4,069
    hi Matt
    I'm afraid it's a little more complicated than that.

On the Balance sheet, Debits come in (eg money into the bank, assets) and Credits go out (money out of the bank, liabilities)
    In the profit and Loss account, Income is a credit and expenses are a debit.

Eg, You buy some envelopes, that would be Cr bank and Dr office expenses.

I did an explanation in another thread which I wil ltry and find and repost.

Double entry can be confusing at first but stick with it and the penny will drop :)
  • MonsoonMonsoon Font Of All Knowledge FMAAT, AAT Licensed Accountant Posts: 4,069
    Here it is, from this thread:
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by gillwilson View Post

The other thing that helped me is think about the bank first
    Just what I was going to advise.
    "Money into the bank is a debit" goes against everything we as bank customers have been used to, but once you accept it, it becomes easier. Money into the bank (balance sheet) is a debit, thus your income (profit & loss account) is a credit. Money out of the bank is a credit, thus expenses are debits.

Why is money into the bank a debit?