Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)

Portfolio... HELP!!!

Purple GoosePurple Goose Just JoinedRegistered Posts: 3
Hey,

This is my first post on here... I just joined :)

I started studying the Foundation AAT last month and I've booked in to do my exam in Dec - I'm doing it with Kaplan Distance Learning and the plan is to get both the Foundation and the Intermediate under my belt by next summer.

The thing is, I just have NO idea on where to start with the portfolio!! I haven't received my 'portfolio builder' from Kaplan yet (stock issues apparently) and I'm hoping that when I do get it, it will help a lot, because it's getting closer to Xmas and I feel I really need to be making a move on this.

Can someone pleeeeease give me some guidance on what I need to put in the damn thing!! Everyone I've spoken to who has done their AAT says the portfolio is really easy and (if anything) a complete waste of time, although they all studied it through a college and got told exactly what to put in it!! (I know I'm probably over analysing the student record, but having read it I seriously don't have a clue what I need to include in it to meet the standards)

I work in Purchase Ledger so I don't cover everything needed for the portfolio in my job. What should I do about this?! I have Sage Instant Accounts at home so can I create 'dummy' companies and submit the work that way?! Is this allowed?!

I'm also studying NCFE Level 3 Accounting with Computers which is a portfolio based qualification - I've made a start on this because I'm doing it through an evening class at college. I'd never heard of this qualification before I started it (I took the class to get experience in payroll) and I don't actually know whether it's any good, but the portfolio requirements seem similar to the foundation AAT. Does anyone know if it is?! Or if I can use the same work in both portfolios?!