Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)

Hallo and can you help me please?

annefreemanannefreeman Settling In NicelyRegistered Posts: 21
Hi all,

Many thanks for the really informative threads and answers on here. You guys rock. I'm actually studying Level 3 AAT, was put straight in at this level (at my own request) as I'd had experience of various finances over the year. I'm getting to grips with it all quite well, and am covering some of the basics from the foundation year in with my level 3 (basically I get a double whammy of college work to do from home as well at attending a day a week).

I've managed to get myself confused this afternoon and hope that somebody can unravel my confusion please. It's taken me a little while to get to grips with credits and debits and what goes under dr and what goes under cr etc and I've worked with the dead and clic methods (which are invaluable to me). I've been doing a balance sheet this afternoon and I wanted to put the vehicle, office and fixtures assets of the (example) company under the dr column as they're an asset. But going by previous examples and work I've done, they should be under the cr column and I can't for the life of me remember why. I've started confusing myself now by thinking well they're an asset, so they must go under the dr column, but they don't.

Can anybody please unravel my mind and explain why I've managed to overcomplicate it for myself?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

Comments

• BluewednesdayBluewednesday Font Of All Knowledge Registered Posts: 1,624
    Those accounts are assets and therefore debit balances.

Are you getting confused with the layout of the balance sheet (the columns aren't debit and credit) the left hand column is the detail of the figures in the right i.e. a breakdown of debtors and creditors which makes up the net current assets/liabilities figure.
  • annefreemanannefreeman Settling In Nicely Registered Posts: 21