unit 30 help - Accounting for Purchases

Hi, im new to this so hope im doing it right!!
I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me out
Unit 30 - Page 320 & 321 in the book

I dont understand why for the example shown they have put the purchases ledger control account as a debit when usual it would be a credit would it not??

And also, why have they not made an account for the total - £9,357.26?
Is this different from the normal purchases double-keeping with it being analysed?

Please help if you can.
Thank You

Comments

• georgyggeorgyg Just Joined Posts: 1Registered
    Hi Steph
    I'm guessing you are referring to the Kaplan text book (I had it open on the pages you mention so I think we are looking at the same pages!)

The amount posted to PLCA is listed as a debit because in this instance you are dealing with payments so by making a payment you are reducing the balance of the liability - reduce a liability = debit. (I think maybe this example is a little confusing as they have not shown any liability on the credit side)

For your second point "and also, why have they not made an account for the total - £9,357.26?" - have a look at page 322 "... The credit entry is the total column of the cash payments book ....." The cash payment book is part of the double entry.

I really hope I make sense - this is my first time on here too and my first attempt at any accountancy exam.
  • steph10pinksteph10pink New Member Posts: 8Registered
    Thanx Georgy G. This has helped me, starting to sink in a little more now
  • A-VicA-Vic Expertise Guaranteed Posts: 6,970Registered
  • dziumbrauskaitedziumbrauskaite Feels At Home Posts: 42Registered
    Hey Steph,

I have the Kaplan book as well, so can help you with this example.