What level of qualification do I need?

Hi All,

Wondered if anyone can help! I am studying AAT foundation in my college it takes 3 years to get my whole NVQ, I am currently working doing sales ledger for a company and hoping to be with them for the whole three years but I was wondering when I've completed my first year in June (well if I pass) would I be getting a pay rise? Im on 17k at the moment but am hoping to be making more, my company are quite relaxed but I don't want to be passing my exam next year to find out that they dont offer me a pay rise when they should be or do I have to wait until I complete the whole 3 years? I want to be able to do some ''work on the side'' and then finally work for myself. I might be jumping the gun since I only started in September but am hoping to start a family in 5 years and want to be working from home to support them...I haven't been with this company that long to ''rock the boat'' when asking would I get a pay rise I wanted to know before I go into them saying ''hay you owe me a payrise'' where I actually stand. I've tried searching this site but doesnt give me everything I am looking for so wondering if more experienced people knew...

Thanks x

Comments

• sammyd22sammyd22 Well-Known Posts: 207Registered
    Sales ledger and credit control can pay quite well with experience itself. 17k in Bham wouldnt be a bad salary for what you are doing, however if you are working in the southern area for eg.. London, Surrey, Greater London etc, you could push for more. I dont think to many companies will see AAT foundation as a qualification that demands much of a rise if any, however Intermediate onwards in my opinion should enable you to "Rock the Boat" slightly.