Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)
Current updates regarding coronavirus (Covid-19) and the precautions AAT are taking will be continually updated on the below page.

Please check this link for the latest updates:
We hope you are all safe and well and if you need us we will be here. 💚

Experience

JaffasGirlJaffasGirl Trusted RegularRegistered Posts: 387
Hi All,

I know this isnt completely related to the foundation level, but i've been hunting around for a job in accounts for about 6 months now and there seem to be none about (at least where i live)

I was wondering how people here got their start in accountancy, and if anyone has any suggestions for places I can go for experience. So that at least when a job does pop up, it doenst look like i've sat on my arse for the last year...

Thanks

Comments

• steveJsteveJ Experienced Mentor Registered Posts: 694
    Are you working at the moment ? Could you find out who the manager to the finance department is and have a word...

I worked on a production line for 5 years and suddenly noticed a job for a billing clerk. Ive only been working at this new role for 2-3 months so far and am really enjoying it.

Also, i would suggest possibly looking for jobs such as admin assistant, office junior etc etc as this could give you valuable office experience and hopefully lead you onto a possible finance related job.

Check this link out:-

http://www.do-it.org.uk/

Its a great resource for voluntary work.

GOOD LUCK...

Just keep on studying and im sure finance/accountancy jobs will show themselves !!!
  • JaffasGirlJaffasGirl Trusted Regular Registered Posts: 387
    Hi,

thanks for the advice, but I am already working as an administrator in an estate agents - no finance department and I have 3 and a half years office experience.