Unit 30 Study Manual

RozburgRozburg New MemberPosts: 9Registered
I am just writing because I would like some feed back.

I started this course about four weeks ago and I am up to Chapter 8 in the Study Manual.

I just wondered how everyone else found this course? (im studying from home)

I'm not really an exam person, so finding difficult to keep all the information in my head, and I am getting quite confused with the debit/credit thing. Going from Sales to Purchase etc. and learning the double entry side to it.

I currently work in Sales Ledger so didn't think I would find this difficult, but learning all this from a book is quite hard. I am really worried about the exam especially as my company is paying for this.

Comments

• sammyd22sammyd22 Well-Known Posts: 207Registered
    debits and credits will stick in your mind eventually!

You can use the following methods to remember:

PEARLS:

PEA = Debits (Purchases, Expenses, Assets)
    RLS = Credits (Revenue, Liabilities, Sales)

an increase in Purchses, Expenses, Assets = Debit
    an increase in Revenue, Liabilities, Sales = Credit

Alternatively you could use APESIL:

APE (Assets, Purchases, Expenses)
    SIL (Sales, Income, Liabilities)

an increase in Assets, Purchases, Expenses = Debits
    an increase in Sales, Income, Liabilities = Credits

Hope this helps.
  • susiewongsusiewong Feels At Home Posts: 29Registered
    Unit 30

Rozburg

The way I got double entry was to remember credit the giver and debit the receiver, even now I just work out who is doing what, e.g

Sales are giving - Credit
    Subsidary sales ledger is receiving the goods - Debit

Subsidary sales is paying their account - Credit
    Bank is receiving the monies - Debit

Not sure if that helps you at all, but it was great for me.

Susie
  • sharumbasharumba Feels At Home Posts: 33Registered