Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)
Current updates regarding coronavirus (Covid-19) and the precautions AAT are taking will be continually updated on the below page.

Please check this link for the latest updates:
We hope you are all safe and well and if you need us we will be here. 💚

Sage nominal codes

dziumbrauskaitedziumbrauskaite Feels At HomeRegistered Posts: 42
Hey guys,

Can someone help me with nominal codes in Sage. Im not good at choosing the right code...
As I understand for the sales I need to use 4000 nominal code, but when it comes to choose account code for cash sales zero-rated and cash sales standart rated, then Im confused... and which code then I need to use for VAT?

Thanks!!!

Comments

• sdvsdv Experienced Mentor Registered Posts: 585
    Hey guys,

Can someone help me with nominal codes in Sage. Im not good at choosing the right code...
    As I understand for the sales I need to use 4000 nominal code, ..........................

Sage codes are organied in a very logical way

If you think about the Balance Sheet, there are 5 classes of accounts

Fixed assets ( sage accounts starts with 00 and thet are between 00 and 999)
    Current Assets ( sage accounts starts with 1000 and thet are between 1000 and 1999)
    Liabilities & Current Liabilities ( sage accounts starts with 2000 and thet are between 2000 and 2999)
    Capital ( sage accounts starts with 3000 and thet are between 3000 and 3999)

If you think about the Profit & Loss, there are 4 classes of accounts

Sales ( sage accounts starts with 4000 and thet are between 4000 and 4999)
    Purchases ( sage accounts starts with 5000 and thet are between 5000 and 5999)
    Direct expenses for Sales and Purchases ( sage accounts starts with 6000 and thet are between 6000 and 6999)

Expenses ( sage accounts starts with 7000 and thet are between 7000 and 7999)

EXPENSES - Subdivided as

Wages ( sage accounts starts with 7000 and thet are between 7000 and 7099)