Do we like being "Technicians"?

Options
Monsoon
Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
I was reading Jilt's thread about advertising, and I realised even thought I'm a full member, I still don't refer to the AAT in our advertising literature. Why?

Because I'm an accountant, and I don't like referring to being an "accounting technician." Maybe it's just me, but it feels 'junior.'

Our advertising refers to us as "Accountants and tax consultants" because that is what we are.

I believe that the qualifications of the Institute of Financial Accountants are broadly similar to that of the AAT. Yet their members are 'Accountants' and we are 'Technicians'.

I've seen it suggested a few times that the AAT needs a new name, that we should actually move from being Technicians to Accountants in name as well as in practice.

I realise when it boils down to it, it doesn't really matter what we are called, because most clients don't give two hoots what our qualifications are. (I also realise that if I felt really strongly about it, I could join the IFA or ICPA, which I don't.). But I thought it might be an interesting talking point.

Comments

• taskey
    taskey Registered Posts: 1,800 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Over here in Germany, people ask me what I do and when I say I am an accounting technician, they look at me all confused and then ask me what that is, after explaining it, they say "so you are an accountant?" which I then just say yes to :) so more often than not when people ask, I will just say I am an accountant - right or wrong, it is easier