Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)

C/D & B/D and brackets in remittance / statement account?

PetanaPetana Feels At HomeRegistered Posts: 72
Hiya,
I started studying the BA1 at home and have a few of questions.

1. Balance c/d - do you date as the last day of the month or as the day of the last entry?
2. Balance b/d - do you date as the 1st of the following month?

3. In a few examples I have noticed the use of brackets... it was once on a remittance and another time on the statement of account. Where and when do I need to use the brackets? I am well confused.

4. What is the book of original entry for discount allowed?

5. Am I right to assume that once I finish BA1 I would move on to BA2 and then the basic costing or would you choose different approach?

many thanks

Petana

Comments

• janwaljanwal Experienced Mentor Registered Posts: 1,189
    Hi Petna

1. Balance c/d is always the last day of the month and Balance b/d the 1st of the following month.

2. Brackets means it is a fiqure to be deducted instead of added, eg a credit note

Not sure about discount would need to recheck my notes

There is no set pattern to studying, unless like me a college decides, if you feel it would be better to carry onto BA2 then do so or you may feel you want a brake, the only thing is remeber that WEAF and Computerised accounting both take longer to mark and there has been quite a few issues on this some taking upto 3 months.

Good luck

Jan
  • anisurrahmananisurrahman Well-Known Registered Posts: 130
    Hi Petana

Discount allowed:

Please see journal entries below and then postings need to be made to 'General ledger accounts' as per journal.
    Debit: Discounts allowed account
      Credit: Sales ledger control account (SLCA)

You can do BA1 or BA2 and Costing at the same time, there are no set rules.

Ronnie

Petana wrote: »
    Hiya,
    I started studying the BA1 at home and have a few of questions.