ACCA...going alone!

peaceb4peaceb4 Settling In NicelyPosts: 15Registered
Has/Is anyone done ACCA without using a learning provider and going it alone with just the study material? How did you find it, how many exams per sitting did you feel comfortable doing?

I ask, because Im struggling to find a provider which is reasonable. As i have a degree already there is no possiblity of getting a student loan to cover tuition fees at 8,000!

Confused and determined Level 4 AAT student!

Comments

• SandyHoodSandyHood Font Of All Knowledge Posts: 2,034Registered, Moderator
    Dear peaceb4
    There are many self-studying students preparing for ACCA exams.
    You enter the exams and you take control in terms of your preparation. There is no need to have a college involved. If you find a topic difficult, there are plenty of colleges able to provide just that.
    I run P5 and P9 classes and often find I have a revision day (or two) prior to each diet of exams. At such events, I'll invariably have a group of candidates. Many have studied from books but without either classroom or distance learning support.

I also offer a marked work service. This is formative, so invariable has quite a lot of feedback on it.
    BPP and Kaplan offer a practice question day, I recommend these. You would go to a hall and just work through one exam question after another. These are marked on the day (not detailed feedback, but clear marks to show how many marks you would have achieved in an exam). Worth thinking about.

If you are very clever, you won't need any extra help, but I think the variety of services on offer are good for someone who wants to do the majority of the learning alone. It is rather like taking a family to a food court, you can have something from here, something else from there and perhaps bring a tupperware tub of the rest that you brought from home.
    Sandy
    sandy@sandyhood.com
    www.sandyhood.com
  • peaceb4peaceb4 Settling In Nicely Posts: 15Registered