AAT without the training provider

ppritamppritam New MemberPosts: 10Registered
Hello all

I have no accounting experience at all and want to start AAT level 2. the training providers are so expensive .... £650 for level 2.......

I thought distance learning is you buy books and study and prepare and give exam but it seems that rule does not apply here as I rang few providers and they are all £650 + and one of them try to sell me AAT 2 for £1500

so my question is can I not buy the level 2 and 3 books and study in my own time and then give exams? if not what do i need to do and do I need a tutor to look at my work at all at any stage??

I understand you guys may be busy but I'd highly appreciate if you can shed some light on this and help a fellow AATition out :)

P

Comments

• steve2008steve2008 Feels At Home Posts: 89Registered
    The short answer is Yes, you can self study.

You can find a list of exam centers who accept external candidates on the AAT site, I'm not sure where since they changed everything though.
    Most modules you just need to ring up the center, pay for the exam and take it, getting marked by the computer straight away. costs are around £55-75 per exam.

There are some modules which require a person to mark them though.

Level 2:

The computerized accounting module: You can pass this by 'prior recognized learning' by getting a sage certificate instead, which is an exam you can take at home. Or buy just this module from a provider, or just don't do it as you don't HAVE to pass level 2 to do level 3.

Level 3:

Spreadsheets: You will need a provider/assessor for this module.
    PEAF: Currently it's computer marked, but this changes in September. If you start level 3 before September you can do it the old way, but you would also have to do the "cash management" module which is being removed from level 3 in September. So swings and roundabouts.
  • VleeVlee Well-Known Posts: 136Registered
    Hello,