Gaining experience whilst studying Level 2?

guide_vocalguide_vocal Posts: 3Registered
Hi everyone,

I'm studying AAT Level 2 and want to gain some accounting experience.

I'm constantly seeing jobs wanting experience, yet how are we supposed to get experience in the first place?

I've already written to 8 accountancy firms in my area (Dudley), explaining my situation and had a response from 1, who said they didn't have any spaces but would let me know if they did.

I'm also looking to relocate to Liverpool and wrote to another 9 explaining that I finish my AAT Level 2 in July and would like to get an accountancy role once I've finished and then go on to study Level 3. Got one response asking for my CV, which I sent but haven't heard anything else.

Can't say I'm not trying!

Anyone got any advice?

Thanks in advance,

Rachel

Answers

• HashtagIvinHashtagIvin Posts: 2Registered
    It's a long shot, have you considered..Charities? volunteer your skills to Charities, this would be a prime way of gaining that invaluable experience and equally a fresh reference.

The only alternative way to gain that 'experience' is by applying for apprenticeships and as they now do 19-24 and 25+it caters to all groups.

Kind regards & many thanks
    Danny.
    Akintayo
  • NpsNps Experienced Mentor Posts: 782Registered
    I second charity work. It shows commitment and allows you to gain relevant experience. www.do-it.org is a good place to start.
  • guide_vocalguide_vocal Posts: 3Registered
    I already do voluntary work with my local Citizens Advice. I didn't think I'd be suitable for apprenticeships as I'm 28 and have a university degree already
  • HashtagIvinHashtagIvin Posts: 2Registered
    I can understand that if you're below the minimum requirements for a person specific role, but I have not yet heard of an 'over qualified rule' for entry to apprenticeships? If you are willing to go back a step and accept terrible monies for the experience and get out of this catch 22.