Have I chosen the wrong qualification

Hello,

I started on the path of gaining an AAT qualification pretty clueless about what I was hoping to achieve in the long run. Long story short hate my job, 2 small children, helped husband to finance going back to studying to become a teacher.....now its my turn to find what I want to do which is earn money in a job that I don't hate which fits around school hours!

Although I have never worked directly in the finance team, my roles have always involved some elements of finance - payroll, invoicing, some Sage work etc etc. So I chose the AAT Level 2 Accounting qualification as I figured it was a change but not too far from what I already sdo. So far I have completed 3 of the 5 exams with my next one in a couple of days time and I have really enjoyed the work so far, especially the bookkeeping module (I love how its an exact science and an answer is either wrong or right - I studied history at Uni and so an exact science is so refreshing!) . The more I think about what I want to achieve the more I'm thinking about self employed bookkeeping.

If that's something I want to pursue have I chosen wrong? Should I have done the Bookkeeping qualification instead? When I finish Level 2 Accounting (hopefully in about 3-4 weeks) what should I do next? Move onto Level 3 or swap to the bookkeeping now? Any advice at this point would me much appreciated. It may all be a pipe dream and is all still just a nice idea in my head, which I haven't spoken to anyody in the real world about yet, but I'm really hoping I haven't wasted the money and time I've invested by studying the wrong bloody qualification!

I will research this myself when I have more time but I'm currently cramming for my exam, feeding the baby, working and getting the eldest child ready to start school in 2 weeks!

Thanks All
Claire

Comments

• PolarisDyasPolarisDyas Posts: 24Registered
    Hi Claire,