New Job

Options
olivia
olivia Registered Posts: 13 New contributor 🐸
Hi,

I have posted this thread on another forum, so sorry if you have already read it. The position im in is that not long coming out of another career and not long since i finished my AAT qualification, I have been offered a job in a practice as a trainee accountant. I never really got an opportunity to ask many questions about the post, so i was hoping somebody could tell me what will be expected of me or what sort of duties i will be doing from the start. I have very little practical experience, also i will be starting ACCA is this a big step up from AAT. All comments would be greatful.

Thanks

Comments

• peugeot
    peugeot Registered Posts: 624 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hi Olivia,

Congratulations on your new role!

A trainee in practice would normally start off by doing simple sole trader/partnerships/small Ltd co's in order to develop their skills. Relatively straight forward tax work, payroll and VAT would also be introduced to you and from this you would build your skills and develop your role.

As your skills develop and you progress through ACCA you could expect to build your own portfolio of clients up with a view to managing larger and higher net worth clients and becoming a fee earner towards the end of your ACCA studies. Each practice is different, but that's the route that trainees normally take in practice i.e. start at the bottom and work upwards.

ACCA is quite a jump from AAT. However, you will have covered the basics at AAT to cope with the demands of ACCA (ACCA assumes quite a lot of knowledge which is covered at AAT), but your practical experience will also help you cope with the exams.

Kind regards
    Steve
  • olivia
    olivia Registered Posts: 13 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Cheers Steve, thanks for the reply gives me a better insight of what to expect.
  • Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ