Study Options

Dee26Bee
Dee26Bee Registered Posts: 7 New contributor 🐸
I've still got 3 exams and the unit 10 project to do and I'm studying by Distance Learning. I'm paying for my own studies.

Since I never actually use most of the elements that the distance learning package includes ( ie I never contact the distance learning tutor ; make us of the marking of mock papers etc) , I was wondering if there is a way that I could entrol at an AAT centre simply to sit my exams? Then all I would need to buy is the text book - which would save me loads of money!

I realise that this wouldn't work for the project Unit 10 - but does anyone know if what I'm suggesting is possible. I feel I'm currently hooked into paying for alot that I dont actually need or use.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi

For the exam units you could just buy the texts and study them. When exam entry time comes around you then choose to take your exam at a centre that takes external candidates (the AAT used to send a list of these out with exam entry forms, not sure if they produce and on-line list for the on-line exam entry). Choosing one of these centres means you wouldn't need to enroll with the college directly. If you wanted to take an exam at a college that doesnt usually take external candidates, you would need to make special arrangements with them.

I used this method for DFS (like you I never used a lot of what came with a distance learning pack and considered it an over expense) though I did also use a revision course out of my own choice.

Neil
  • Dee26Bee
    Hi Neil

Many thanks - that's really helpful - and excellent news for my bank balance!! I'll contact AAT for the list . Just wish I'd thought about this earlier when I took units 8 & 9 in June - could have saved £172!!!

Meanwhile if anyone knows which centres in the London area take external students please let me know.

Dee
    :thumbup:
  • CelticStar