What to do....

rachy1975
rachy1975 Registered Posts: 366 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
i just need a bit of help and advise on the path i am going to take...
I am going to start Technician in September after completing Foundation and Intermediate this year.
I do not work in accounts and am currently struggling to find employment as i have no experience.
Is Technician really difficult to study if you are not in employment?
I dont mind a challenge but am a bit worried that none of it will make sense if im not applying it and it is only one day a week.
I will prob find a voluntary position once i find paid employment so hopefully this will help.
Also what can you do after Technician??
i want to do financial accounts.
I have looked at CIMA and you have to attend university for 4 years to achieve this??
im not sure if this is correct so would appreciate other peoples views and what you have all done so i can see what different options are available...
Ultimately i would like to be a chartered accountant....

:thumbup:

Comments

• LondonMatt
    LondonMatt Registered Posts: 1,110 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    You can do intermediate without a job in accounts. I work in credit control, almost never use my training and I didn't find intermediate too difficult.
  • Adam 1969
    Adam 1969 Registered Posts: 2 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
    From memory the Technician level can be tricky if you are not working in an accounts function...but don't be disheartened.
    Your intention of looking for a voluntary position is good. This will look excellent on a CV and there are plenty of charities who need treasurers.
    As for progressing I chose CIMA as not only does it lead to charterewd status but it also was possible for me to study at a college one evening a week.
    It did take 3 years to complete the managerial level this way, but it was affordable! The number of colleges offering this is small and I did have to travel 50 miles to get there!