ACCA or CIMA

crissy
crissy Registered Posts: 24 New contributor 🐸
hi everyone!

I have just taken unit 11 and 33 in December. I have unit 10 and the optionals to do yet but Im already thinking about what to do next and I cannot decide between ACCA or CIMA.

Im a distance learning student and moved out of the UK a few months ago, Im not sure which route is better as for job opportunities abroad.

Have you decided already what you want to do next?!!

Thanx

Cris

Comments

• NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi

Where are you living now? EIther will put you in good stead in the UK, but you might want to consider where you are/want to work.

ACCA is often touted as "international" but most countries have their own bodies so consider how well it would be accepted in individual countries as it could fair better or worse than the "home" qualification.

Neil
  • PGM
    PGM Registered Posts: 1,954 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Probably ACCA unless you're planning on staying there, in which case I don't know!
  • crissy
    crissy Registered Posts: 24 New contributor 🐸
    Hi

Thanks for your replies!

I currently live in the UAE and planning to stay here for a few years.. I've just being doing some research and it seems like both ACCA and CIMA are well recognised and quite demanded here so I suppose I just need keep having a look around and then just decide for one of them..

Cheers

Cris
  • Andypandy
    Andypandy Registered Posts: 526 Epic contributor 🐘
    Why doesn't anybody ever mention the AAT2ACA fastrack? Seems like a good bet to me, specially when you can do it in a minimum of 2 years.
  • jow774
    jow774 Registered Posts: 465 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Dont you have to have an ICAEW registered employer/employment contract for ACA?
  • SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod