Tax Question

NickyW
NickyW Registered Posts: 97 Regular contributor ⭐
I am studying for my Tax units at the moment and also helping someone else with their accounts and was hoping that someone can help me!!
If someone is self employed doing freelance instructing but also has a job where they are on the payroll and therefore paying NI contributions and PAYE - how are they taxed and what returns do they have to fill in?
Any replies would be greatly appreciated!
Nicky

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    In the nicest way, if you're asking this question then your friend might need more help than you can give.

However:

They need to have registered as self employed with HMRC
    They will then be issued with a notice to complete a tax return
    They have to complete the employment pages (using the details on the P60 from their job)
    Also the self employment pages with details from their freelancing
    Also the main form, where any relevant sections (e.g. interest, dividends, benefits) need completing
    Any other sections of the tax return that are relevant.

Register now to do it online, much easier than on paper.
  • NickyW
    I fully agree. I am just entering the entries on the system for her and the accountant will do the rest!
    Rather than just enter it I wanted to fully understand what the 'tax' procedure was.
    Thanks for replying
    Nicky
  • Monsoon
    Jolly good :)
    Everyone has to start somewhere and helping people like this (especially with the backup of an accountant) is a really good way to start getting to know how these things are done.

Good luck in your studies!
  • NickyW
    Thanks for this! I have got 1 more question and would be so grateful if anyone could answer it!!!!