Personal tax exam next week

Options
AmyRichardson
AmyRichardson Registered Posts: 89 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi All

I have my personal tax CBA next week.

however I have just noticed that AAT have changed the syllabus to base it on 2010 finance act, does this mean my exam will be based on this or will it be on the 09 FA which I studied???

Thnks

Comments

• coojee
    coojee Registered Posts: 794 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    FA2009 should continue to be assessed until the end of September (or so I've been led to believe). There is an overlap though in that FA2010 starts to be assessed from 1st September so for all of September 2 FA's are being assessed, I don't know how on earth they can do that, whether you have to specify when you book the exam which FA you want I don't know.
  • GreenMousey
    GreenMousey Registered Posts: 154 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Be careful about the date. I was like that about my business tax and, in the end, rang AAT. They advised me that FA2009 would stop being an exam on 31st August & after that it would be FA2010. I would ring them to double check about personal tax too, but as far as AAT were concerned (And the dates on the front of one of my text books) FA 2009 was being examined only up to 31st August.
    I have my BTX exam on 5th September and have had to switch to FA2010, luckily there are very few differences between the years.

Good luck!
  • AmyRichardson
    AmyRichardson Registered Posts: 89 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    ok thankyou both :)

I have just spoken to AAT and they have said its up to your training provider on the day

then I rang Kaplan and they said they find out on thurs if they get a choice for each student to which FA it will be based on.

Hopefully I can chose 09!!

This is my last exam so I am hoping I pass and then I'm all done!!
  • GreenMousey
    GreenMousey Registered Posts: 154 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options