Could I apply for an Assistant Accountant role? Advice needed

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
Good Morning Folks

I work as a credit controller for a large organization and studying the AAT level 4.

There has now arisen an internal vacancy within that organization for an assistant accountant. I have read the job description and a lot of the tasks stated seem to be beyond my work experience.

So, do you think I shouldn't apply for this role or do you think I should still apply for it (the worst they can do is reject my application!)

In all honesty, after completing my AAT studies, should I apply for 'lower level' jobs such as accounts assistant roles before going on to apply for assistant accountant roles?

Thanks in advance for your responses.
ยซ1

Comments

• SamiH
    SamiH Registered Posts: 179 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Good morning :)

I don't see why you shouldn't apply. I also work for a large PLC company and they seem to like recruiting accountants from within rather than externally. I have only just completed Level 3, and they have told me that an assistant accountant role will be available for me towards the end of the year.

Go for it, you have nothing to lose :)
  • Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    geek84 wrote: ยป
    So, do you think I shouldn't apply for this role or do you think I should still apply for it (the worst they can do is reject my application!)

Hello Manjinder

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. Like you say, the worst they can do is reject your application - but it will show your interest and that you wish to progress.

JC
    ~ An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest ~
    Benjamin Franklin
  • Folander
    Folander Registered Posts: 50 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Hi,