Home For AAT student members AQ 2013 AAT Level 2 (Level 5 in Scotland)

Sage Accounts Question

CeeJaySixCeeJaySix Well-KnownRegistered Posts: 645
After a bit of confirmation if anyone's got their Sage head on...

I'm studying Level 2 with Premier and have the Sage Instant Accounts self-study pack. I've run into a small problem in that the workbooks don't marry up to the software in the odd aspect (I think the software is a newer version than the workbooks relate to).

At the end of the first workbook, section 9 deals with setting up opening balances. Now the workbook keeps referring to a wizard which does it all nicely for you; I can't find this wizard for love nor money in the software (it's definitely not where the book says it is, and I'm not an IT novice and have looked everywhere I can think of). I'd rather learn to do it manually anyway, but not sure if I'm doing it right.

First step is to post outstanding invoices/credits to individual sales/purchases ledger accounts. Fine, can do that by individual record.

That then automatically updates your control accounts in the nominal, which gives you an unbalanced trial balance.

Then the book seems to suggest (and this is where I'm not clear because it has a wizard doing it all, and I'm trying to replicate manually) that you need to reverse your control account postings so you have a zeroed trial balance (bearing in mind at this stage no other opening balances have been entered). This is easy to do with a journal entry, I'm just not convinced it's the right thing to do.

Then, you enter all the nominal ledger opening balances (again they use a wizard, but it's simple to do manually). Included in this is entering the opening balances into the sales/purchases control accounts.