Payroll and tax return experience

Hi,

I am a MAAT licensed accountant and would like to add payroll and tax returns to my services but AAT say I need experience to be able to. I also work full time, how on earth can I gain experience?

Thanks

Comments

• CSan89
    CSan89 Registered Posts: 207
    Work experience at a accountancy practice? What is your current role?
    AAT Level 2&3 - 2016
    AAT Level 4 - 2017
    Personal Tax, Business Tax and External Auditing

ACA/CTA -
    Certificate Level - Jan 2019
  • Jenbo
    Jenbo Registered Posts: 52
    I am an accounts assistant and havr worked in industry within accounts for 15 years but never had the opportunity to do payroll and never worked in a practice to do tax either.
  • CSan89
    How are you going to offer tax and payroll services if you have never done it?

The best option would be to look for a job in a practice environment so you can learn these areas. Offering these services without any experience would be asking for trouble and could end up costing more than you would gain.
    AAT Level 2&3 - 2016
    AAT Level 4 - 2017

ACA/CTA -
  • Jenbo
    I have done a payroll principles course and from what people have said , payroll is easy.

The optional units on tax on level 4 dont count as knowledge then?
  • CSan89
    They count as knowledge, not experience.

Inputting payroll is easy and filling in tax returns is easy enough but that isn't why people pay an accountant to do their payroll/tax returns. It is the tax advice that comes with it.

I have worked in practice for two years doing payroll and accounts production, done both tax modules on this years finance act and I would be uncomfortable charging people to do their tax returns because I know that there is alot more on tax that I don't know.

I am currently studying ACA and there is 2 tax modules on the next level so I know that there is more Tax to learn than what I studied during AAT.

Have you thought of studying ATT or CTA?