Re After hours/weekend work experience

Hi, I am not sure which avenue to take here so decided to start off with AAT. I qualified as AAT and MAAT earlier this year, and am currently in a varied office role. Accounts is my passion, but unfortunately I have a lot of experience in the more junior areas and wish to understand the more advanced side of it, and was wondering if there was anyone local to me who might be working after hours or weekends when I could come and gain a better understanding of the basics of advanced accounting. I am currently working towards becoming the company accountant but lack experience in certain areas I feel I should be excelling at such as bank reconciliations, vat returns, and most importantly management accounts. I feel stuck in a rut and am scared that if I don't step up my game I will find myself lacking the dream job I have been working towards. Thanks to anyone who can help, or if there is an AAT support group in Merseyside that would also be a useful start.

Comments

• amurray
    amurray Registered Posts: 304 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi Lindi,

Have you looked at the resources on the AAT website?, I know their are quite a few. I think I saw an upcoming event regarding Management Accounts at AAT's head office in London which may be of use?

Does your company work with a Chartered Accountancy practice? - If so, could you speak with them and hopefully spend some time with them?

If not, it may also be worth contacting local bookkeepers/accountants, who may be able to offer some spare time to help.
    MAAT, AATQB, MICB PM.Dip.
    Completed AAT in March 2020
  • Lindi
    Lindi Registered Posts: 166
    amurray said:

Hi Lindi,

Have you looked at the resources on the AAT website?, I know their are quite a few. I think I saw an upcoming event regarding Management Accounts at AAT's head office in London which may be of use?