How long should I study for the synoptic?

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting but I’m looking for some advice on how long I should allow myself to study for the synoptic exam? I must admit that I opened the Kaplan study text and already feel overwhelmed. All advise would be appreciated. Thank you

Comments

• Alexa
    Alexa Registered Posts: 14
    Hi I have started to do my revision 2 months ago and i feel like is not enough. I have my exam in two weeks time and i am studying 4-6 h ever day as i am panicking that i dont have time to get ready. I haven't even started mock exams. I had so much break since I have done my mandatory levels that i need to learn the theory again especially the early ones. And i have failed the MDCL first time so i am learning loads on this subject not to get caught again.
  • shauna_96
    shauna_96 Registered Posts: 2
    I took my MDCL exam last week and I feel like it went absolutely terrible but I’m hoping I’ve done enough to scrap a pass. It’s the Accounting Systems and Control element of the synoptic that I’m struggling with. Literally just started studying this week and feel like my brain is about to pop aha
  • Pian32
    Pian32 Registered Posts: 474 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Time is a tricky metric and depends on the person as much as anything else.

What I would absolutely reccommend if you havn't done it already/previously is reading through the exam reports and the sample exam (the one with more detailed mark scheme and sample answers)

The questions all follow a structural pattern so you can almost learn the best method to tackle things by question.
    e.g. Task 3 in all examples is a find weaknesses in a system.

If you're still on Ruby Dale I'd also recommend speaking to @Emmalouise18 or looking for older comments as she seems to be able to explain things well on this topic.