Passing Level 3 Synoptic - a tip which might help

Hi, I studied for AAT Level 3 at our local college. We have had many delays and disruption to our classes and exams due to Covid. We finally managed (6 months late) to sit our Synoptic last month. Although I use spreadsheets a lot, I struggled with the Excel parts of the exam and ran short of time. I particularly struggled with the Management Costings question as I found this topic hard to start with. As I was running out of time, I skimmed through the unanswered parts and looked for things I could do - for example an IF function. I knew my figures were likely to be wrong but I put in an IF function anyway. I passed by 2%! Adding in a couple of extra functions/ calculations made all the difference. Hopefully this advice might help others pass - if you are running out of time or you can't do the question, put some figures in somewhere and demonstrate the skills you do have by putting in the functions, tables, or whatever they are asking for in the question, as it will all pick up marks and could make a difference between a pass and fail.
Having read other comments, I agree there doesn't seem to be enough time in the final exam. During the first 4 I had time to go back through and re-check all of my answers, then go through again working out how many marks I had definitely got and still left 20 mins early. The final one I felt like I had to rush through it all and ran out of time in both parts of it.
(Disclaimer - I have not discussed live exam material - it's general knowledge that there is usually a Financial Accounting & a Management Accounting question for each of the Excel parts, and also that pivot charts, tables, IF statements, etc are likely to come up)

Comments

• livintiv
    livintiv Registered Posts: 69 Regular contributor ⭐
    As someone who's sitting the advanced synoptic soon, thank you!
    MAAT - April 2022
    Currently working through ACCA
  • Jac67
    Jac67 Registered Posts: 1