Qualification

Daisy
Daisy Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
As a Full or Fellow Member of the AAT, what do you call yourself, a qualified accountant or just a technician? And if a prospective employer requires a qualified accountant for a position, does one consider oneself as fitting the description?

Comments

• Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    You are a fully qualified accounting technician - be proud of it

Usually if an advert is asking for a qualified accountant they are looking for ACCA, CIMA, ICAEW etc
  • JudgedRed
    JudgedRed Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
    When people ask what I do, its simpler to say I am an accountant, rather than have to explain how my qualification differs from my wife, who describes herself as a chartered accountant ( as she is !)
  • beverly hudson
    beverly hudson Registered Posts: 95 Regular contributor ⭐
    I qualified as ACMA in 1994 but have great respect for AAT having taught it for 17 years at a well respected training company.

AAT is not only highly regarded but also a qualification in its own right. As Annette says be proud of it.

Bev.
  • deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    It depends who you are speaking to.

If I am talking to people in the industry or people who have knowledge of the various qualifications then I will say I'm AAT/ATT.

If someone 'on the street' asks if I am a qualified accountant then I will say yes. If they want me to elaborate then I will.

I find more people outside of the industry ask if I am chartered or certified rather than 'qualified'. I think qualified and part-qualified is more recruitment consultancy speak.

I'm all for being proud of my qualification but to the average Joe 'AAT qualified' doesn't mean a great deal.
  • beverly hudson