How do you ask for a raise in salary?

Options
A-Vic
A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
The situation at the moment for me is i have worked for a chartered accountants now for 4 years as a practise administrator/ manager, i love my job i love the work and the location for me is ten mins travel to work so that is ideal.

One problem i have is my current salary, the fact that i have government top up with beneifits and that another person in college with less responsibility and 15 years younger than me is on the same wage makes me wonder is it time to test the water for a pay raise?

Am studying intermidiate at college and yes this was funded by my boss but just the tutiation fee's so i had to pay everything else myself, thanks to yet another state hand out i managed to claim some of that back also, i am a little bitter about that as mybe it should have been used for someone not working.

so my question is how do i address this with my boss? what agruments could i use? what did any of you do? i dont want to come across as aggressive, i dont think pushy will work, but the fact is if i carry on, on the wage i am on i will have to search for another job.

Any advise or stories of people in the same stiuation and what they did would be greatfully received.

Thanks

Vic

Comments

• A-Vic
    Options
    Id also like to add the fact that we hired a an office junior 3 months ago who untill i tought her didnt know how to even switch on a computer when she started and due to advise about her wage slip i relised is only on 50 pence an hour less than me.
  • Diannew
    Diannew Registered Posts: 2,814 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Options
    Hi A-Vic,

You just have to go for it, and sell yourself.