How to record purchases of softwares

alman
alman Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hi, need your help for two questions.

I have recently started small practice working from home, before starting trade, I incurred expenses, such as business set up costs etc, and I only started trading from 1st January.
From 1st January I pay all expenses from by business account, that is fine, but how do I record expenses that I paid from my personal account before I had a business account.

How would you record purchase of software, i.e. solar accounts for practice purposes, as the cost is small would you still treat as an asset or expense, if treated as an asset, what rate of depreciation would you use.

Thanks for your assistance.

Comments

• sdv
    sdv Registered Posts: 585 Epic contributor 🐘
    alman wrote: »
    Hi, need your help for two questions.

.............but how do I record expenses that I paid from my personal account before I had a business account.

How would you record purchase of software, i.e. solar accounts for practice purposes, as the cost is small would you still treat as an asset or expense, if treated as an asset, what rate of depreciation would you use.

Thanks for your assistance.

Reading this is concerning!

Are you sure that you want to set up as MIP and do accounts for your clients?

The quiery is a basic level 3 (Intermediate) stuff and lack of basic bookkeeping knowledge is very likely to land a MIP on the indemnity insurance claim

Again the second question is all about Maginality Concept. fairly basic stuff really.

I may sound harsh, but I am worried about your competency to do basic bookeeping
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I have to agree with sdv here, these are basic questions.

However:
    Expenses paid from personal account
    Dr expense
    Cr capital introduced.

I don't capitalise anything that costs less than £3-500 so would code Solar Accounts and similar to the P&L.