Budgeting

Options
Joe Barraclough
Joe Barraclough Registered Posts: 69 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
Hello all

i started studying my aat level 2 in september and i am now just beginning my level 4 exams, i am 13 exams up with no fails and i have my first level 4 exam in a weeks time....Budgeting.

Is level 4 as hard as people say or do people exxagerate?

any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated

regards

Comments

• uknitty
    uknitty Registered Posts: 591 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Options
    Budgeting isn't so bad - in fact I didn't really notice a huge amount of difference between budgeting and costing.

Main difference at level 4 is that you are not just required to do the calculations, but also to write writen answers explaining what the figures mean and also make recommendations about what action to take based on your workings.

Budgeting is probably a good one to start with - it leads naturally on to FNPF.

FNST is probably the exam that causes most people problems at level 4. I did this as my first exam, but in hindsight if I had advice to give I would say that because there are lots of IAS to learn buy a book that covers all the IAS's (try "A students guide to International Accounting Standards by Claire Finch") and read through the standards that are coveredfor FNST whilst you are studying other units. The more time you can give yourself to gain a good knowledge of this unit the better.
  • Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Options
    Is level 4 as hard as people say or do people exxagerate?

Hello Joe

Some people will find Level 4 easier than others, depending on previous experience and possibly their current job role if employed in accountancy.

I found Budgeting fairly straightforward and really enjoyed this module. However, I would highly recommend that you concentrate on the written elements as well as the calculations.