wbauk2002 Registered Posts: 110 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
Im having a nightmare trying to find a job in accounts

I have had my CV and covernote tweaked by a recruitment professional

Im on AAT Level 4
I have a Bsc Business IT degree
A Levels in business studies and accounting

Ran a ltd company for 3 years doing all the bookkeeping etc
Worked as finance admin for 8 months, temp position

And im applying for mainly accounts assistant or similiar roles, Im applying to entry level, experienced and whatever else in between, and will start on min wage. Even volunteering positions dont reply

And probably getting 5 rejections per 50 applications

Im using job centre, reed, monster, totaljobs, CV library, local newspaper websites, local temp agencies

Is anyone else finding it this hard?

How did you get your accounts jobs?

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    Hi,
    I think you are doing everything right and you have a good experience so now I guess it's just a waiting game. Maybe you could send speculative application to local accountancy firms?

I started looking last September after a long career break - just had done volunteer jobs with my local school. I reworked on my CV and sent it to a few local accountancy firms. I was lucky to get a 6 weeks temporary position with one of them, which turned into a maternity cover for 3 months, and then was offered a permanent part-time position - At the time I would even have accepted a non-paid job.

Remember that most jobs aren't advertised. Try to make good use of social network sites (e.g LinkedIn), talk to friends... Also, if you are training with a college they may have jobs advertised through them....

Hopefully something will come up. Good luck,
    MN:001_smile:
  • NicF
    NicF Registered Posts: 108 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️