Not sure what to charge?

Options
sasahdeasey
sasahdeasey Registered Posts: 11 New contributor 🐸
Afternoon Ladies and Gentlemen,

I qualified in August and one of my husband's friends has just set himself up as a sole trader doing some consultancy work, in addition to his full-time role where he pays tax through PAYE.

He has asked for my assistance in completing his tax return and offering some tax advice, nothing too in-depth, what he can claim etc.

He is doing his own invoicing and maintaining a spreadsheet showing the values invoiced/paid.

He is happy to negotiate on how much I charge to do his return - I obviously don't want to overcharge him since this is my first time doing this and I have no experience, but at the same time don't want to charge £50 and it turns out it takes me 3 days!

Was just hoping for some advice really - what's an appropriate amount to charge for this kind of service? Is there anything I need to know that's really important and it's possible I've overseen as a newbie?

Thanks in advance,

Sasha

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Sorry to be blunt but if you have no experience I don't think you should be charging anything :confused1:

Have you read the MiP regulations and guidelines?
    Newbie Registered Posts: 229 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    I'm afraid I have to agree with Gem, if you have no experience, I know very little about electrics so I always leave it to an experienced professional
  • sasahdeasey
    sasahdeasey Registered Posts: 11 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Well we all have to start somewhere don't we?

I may have no experience but I'm Level 4 qualified and did Personal and Business Tax as my options so it's not like I'm not qualified for the job. I'll be giving up my time so I don't see why I shouldn't charge for it?
  • stevo5678
    stevo5678 Registered Posts: 325
    Options
    Well we all have to start somewhere don't we?