Where has AAT taken me?

imtiaz
imtiaz Registered Posts: 20 Dedicated contributor 🦉
I just want to share what has happened recently for me personally because of AAT and there may be some people in a similar position who may benefit from my overall experience.

Background.
I'm 24
I have 5 GCSEs but all A-B including the core subjects
I only have 1 A level which is in Biology - B
I done these in the same year, my education suffered a bit for various reasons..

Currently I'm studying and looking to complete level 4 of AAT by March/April, sitting two ACCA (F5,F6) exams in June 2014 ,and started a business degree with the open university taking the economics pathway. Quite a lot so personal time is kind of non existent.

I have no office work experience and no accounting work experience.

I was working doing night replenishment in Asda for a year, whatever I was earning I was investing into the stock market at the time. Reading so much financial material led to me getting fed up of working in Asda and deciding I need an escape into something else, at the time I didn't know what I was going to do but I took the leap.

By chance from Belfast I had gone to London, I started making applications and was invited to visit someone working for a recruitment agency in Liverpool street. He basically told me nice CV but nothing relevant on it to the type of work I want. He offered me some options (courses) which were quite expensive (and he was giving me a one day only half price voucher). I'm not stupid enough to fall for that, but what he had done for me was to realize I had to get qualified somehow. A day or two later I was sitting on Youtube and an advert appeared showing AAT. I looked into it further, went to Kaplan in Hammersmith and got some information. I didn't have enough money to take lessons, and even if I bought the books and self studied I knew i'd have to move back to Belfast and live with my parents. Here my journey began with AAT.