Do I need A levels as well as AAT to apply for junior accounting roles?

Options
Hi, hoping for a little advice...

I'm looking into starting AAT level 2 in September, but I'm not sure whether I should try to take up some A levels aswell to improve my chances of landing a job next year?
I've been a store manager in retail for almost 9 years and have no formal qualifications other than my GCSEs (11 grade A-C).
I've been doing a bit of research on websites of local accountancy firms and I noticed that one of them requires candidates for junior and trainee positions (the kind of roles I'd be looking to apply for after level 2) to have 3 A levels.

Should I attempt to study for A levels alongside my AAT?

Which subjects would be the most beneficial?

Will my experience in retail count for anything when applying for jobs?

Also I'm still not sure whether to take an online course or to study at the local college. The online course (Kaplan) appeals as I have to be very flexible with work, but which would employers rather see?

Thank you!

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Options
    I'm a FMAAT and did ACCA and I have no A-levels. I do not see any requirement. Maybe it is a way of making sure those who apply are over 18 so have some extra maturity?
    We certainly don't and wouldn't ask for A-levels for an AAT student based position.
    Regards,

Burg
  • ChristianB
    ChristianB Registered Posts: 197 Epic contributor 🐘
    edited June 2015
    Options
    Hi @halle-ellie

I find and share vacancies for AAT members on a daily bases across our social media channels, and I can't remember a time when A-Levels were a requisite alongside having a qualification like AAT. I'm by no means an expert (I consider anecdotal evidence provided by members like @burg to be the best advice you can get) but it is in my view that you should be okay.