A level student need some advice on AAT

Hello guys ,
I'm currently retaking my AS levels as I failed last year. However I'm really interested in Accounting due to the subjects I study at A level. 2 of them being Economics and Maths. I have no previous experience working in any accounting or finance environment except for 1 week work exp at Barclays.

What I need help with is this:
-Should I continue with my AS levels and A2 then do apprenticeship or degree, Or should I do AAT now.
-Does it matter if i failed a levels ? Would that lower my chance of getting into AAT
-Should I continue my studies and do AAT using the method of self-study. If so where should I start (level 1 or 2)
-Since you guys are more experienced , do you think the financial sector is more into education in terms of degree levels or experiences for to be employed?

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks :)

Comments

• David Ballantyne
    David Ballantyne Registered Posts: 105 New contributor 🐸
    Hi Keef,

The advice I am going to give to you is the advice I would give to my children were they old enough to be in your situation, based on the hindsight of my own experience.

Should I continue with my AS levels and A2 then do apprenticeship or degree, Or should I do AAT now.
    If you are confident that accounting is a career that you want to pursue, do AAT now. In terms of academic study, the AAT qualification is OFQUAL regulated and the Professional Diploma is a Level 4 qualification, click here for more information. Level 4 is equivalent to the first year of a degree.