Taxcalc vs. Taxfiler

Hello,
I am considering using software for the preparation of tax returns and accounts for sole traders. I would like to hear people's experience with either/both. The AAT magazine is advertising Taxcalc and that's a good recommendation in itself.
Anyway, I would really appreciate your views on this.
Thank you.

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    I use TaxCalc and find it easy to use but may not be the cheapest out there. As @Mickdundee suggests, the fact that it is advertised in the AAT magazine has nothing to do with my choice.

I have no experience of Taxfiler so can not comment on it.

Here are the links to 2 earlier discussions on this matter:
    https://forums.aat.org.uk/discussion/443016/vt-accounts-tax-software

https://forums.aat.org.uk/discussion/442150/software

Hope this helps
  • gwenb
    gwenb Registered Posts: 42
    Those are very good points Mick, thank you.

So, being a start-up, I am not hoping for more than 10 clients this tax year both self employed and companies. I am after a package that offers SARs, accounts, CTax and VAT returns.

I read that Taxfiler is a bit limited but price wise seems very reasonable. I should have said that I am open to explore other options as long as it's not too expensive. My budget is only £150/£200 a year at the most.

The reason I think that AAT advertising of Taxcalc is a good recommendation is because I thought they would not try to sell anything that would affect their reputation. I may be wrong you think?
  • Neillaw
    Neillaw Registered Posts: 307 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I've started with Taxfiler as it's the best cashflow efficient package. That doesn't mean to say that i'll not jump ship in a couple of years but with the client base I have it just isn't economically viable. My mentor uses Iris which is expensive for what it is.