Finding a job with no experience??

Options
DannyT90
DannyT90 Registered Posts: 158
I am currently studying for my level 2 in accounting and I am looking ahead for when I achieve the qualification. This is a career change for me so I don't have any office/finance experience.
Potential jobs like accounts assistant all want experience as we all know.
I am in the process of becoming a treasurer but as for paid positions, is it worth me getting a job as an admin assistant and work my way up as I gain my qualifications?
Any feedback will be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• DannyT90
    Options
    Thank you for the feedback. One of my main concerns is forgetting stuff that I have learnt and so I thought an admin job would Atleast keep me in the loop with things.
    Did you find it hard as you progressed to remember things you had learnt in level 2?
  • DannyT90
    Options
    Yeah I did level 1 and straight onto level 2, which I have my Bookkeeping controls Exam next Thursday. I plan to do Level 3 straight after.

Thanks for your help, I appreciate it.
  • kbates
    kbates Registered Posts: 4
    Options
    Have you thought about looking into an apprenticeship? I studied level 2 and 3 and then got an apprenticeship with a local accountancy firm to study level 4. I would say that it's definitely worth looking into! It's been great the get on-the-job experience and also having support with studying too.
  • DannyT90
    Options
    Isn't apprenticeship quite low pay? I've got a lot of outlay, so can't really take a low paid position.

What was you doing while you did Level 2 and 3, work wise?
  • kbates
    kbates Registered Posts: 4
    Options