Trainee acoountan

Options
sagewayne
sagewayne Registered Posts: 2 New contributor 🐸
I was completed my AAT by 18/08/2007, and is full member, but I am not able to get a job as a trainee accountant, I know I am Chinese (British Citizen), which means it is very hard for me to compete with other people. I live in Birmingham, Could anyone help me with this, many thanks.:thumbup1:

Comments

• emsquare1
    emsquare1 Registered Posts: 96 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Sagewayne,

To be honest I would aim for higher, I was a trainee for my first two years, and now work full time in accounts. Do you have any accounts experience and is your CV upto date?
  • Andrewh26
    Andrewh26 Registered Posts: 69 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    I'm at technician stage and I've done 2 years of purchase ledger. Was wondering if I could get an assistant accountant role. Apparently not yet seems to be the case. What did you do emsquare? I think I need more all round experience first. What does anyone else think?
  • emsquare1
    Options
    Well I was an apprentice for two years. My first real job now (i'm only a baby at 18 which resttricts me, most employeers think 18 year olds are juvinile delinquents!)

My job role is called Financal Support Assistant, bit of a scrambled role, I work for a huge company so we only deal with management a/cs here.

Andrew you would have a far more evolved knowledge than me due to your exposure, I can't see what the restriction would be?
  • Andrewh26
    Options
    well talking to hays, they believe i need more experience as i've only just done purchase ledger, before i could go for higher roles. Although some places have liked my CV, if I stick in purchase ledger, there's some pretty well paid jobs I can have a go at. But surely it's not good just to stay in purchase ledger and frankly with all the invoices, some jobs at least, can be a right royal pain in the a*se :)
  • emsquare1
    Options