Hi.....some advice needed please

Options
N3OVR
N3OVR Registered Posts: 7 New contributor 🐸
i have been working with a recruitment company for 5 yrs now doing the credit control, purchase ledger etc basically the easy things on sage. anyway i have just started doing the end of months/reconciliation etc for the 3 companies they own and basically they have asked me to gain an actual qualification in accountancy so i can do more. i was lucky gettin the job i have no qualifications at all......barring GCSE's lol so now i am looking into what is the best qualification to get and how to go about it.
I have been pushed in this direction to start with and was wondering if this is the correct path really?
any advice would be greatly appreciated :)

Comments

• shaxxa
    shaxxa Registered Posts: 82 Regular contributor ⭐
    Options
    Quite simply - Yes! :thumbup:
    The AAT is a great starting point, in fact I can't think of any other qualification to get you onto the long old road of accountancy.
    As you already work in accounts, you may find the foundation level easy but I always ascertain you should know the basics before the big stuff is tackled.
    Have a look at the syllabus on here or BBP/Osbourne.
    The AAT is a well respected qualification and once qualified will gain you exemptions for ACCA/CIMA depending on which road you want to go down.
    Will your company pay for your study etc? If so, what have you got to lose?

Good luck
    Sharon
  • Jan
    Jan Registered Posts: 654 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    N3OVR

There will be many a reader that will read this post green with envy! :lol: Personally I think AAT is a great 1st step into accountancy (and no I don't work for them!). With your experience it may be that you can start on Intermediate level - there is a skills checker (somewhere on this site!) - if you type in skills check on the home page it should come up.