Directors view

Options
Gianni
Gianni Registered Posts: 99 Regular contributor ⭐
The purpose of this post is really to canvass opinion on how other members deal with directors.

Directors are usually interested in one thing, profits. They usually make all decisions from a commercial perspective and their regard for any technical or accounting issues is usually the last thing on their mind. That is unless they have a financial background themselves in which some consideration will be given, others would argue if they do have some knowledge they'll try and bend the rules even more!

Has anyone had problems dealing with their directors?

As an accounts technician I feel I have a duty to produce financial information that is useful to a wide range of users, that being internal stakeholders (directors, co-workers) and external stakeholders (banks, factoring companies, investment groups etc.). This has been fine in the company I work for, they have 'pre sold', in that, sales have been brought forward into a monthly period (little profit) but at year end this is all sorted so I don't see *too* much harm in this and other than that nothing really.

However, now that the economy is biting and recession is almost upon us the company is feeling the pinch. I'm finding a lot more is beginning to happen, ranging from pre sales (little excessive now) to keeping back of purchase invoices (legals), sales periods being kept open beyond month end to stock being booked in that hasn't arrived and sold (both to falsify profit & advance cash from factor) etc.

I've not been in work much the past week or so and won't be in for another week (cima study leave) so will be looking to resolve this when I return (I can't imagine what will have been done by then!).

My question is, how would you deal with this?

Comments

• sarahwilson
    sarahwilson Registered Posts: 567 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options