Record Handover

Options
sek
sek Registered Posts: 3 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi! I am a new student member and currently offer book-keeping and payroll services. Can anyone advise me as to what I need to pass on to a new accountant with regard to client's records, i.e. obviously any paperwork of the clients such as bank statements, invoices etc but do I need to supply a backup copy of the computerised records i have on Sage etc or will a print out of Trial Balance be enough, basically I suppose what I am asking is who owns the computerised data? Any help would be great, thanks.

Comments

• accountant
    accountant Registered Posts: 10 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
    Options
    who owns what

An accountants working papers are his or her property so only necessary information contained within them would be given to a new accountant not the working papers themselves. The same would apply to computerised records insofar as they formed part of the working papers.

However if you are only doing bookkeeping for a client then I believe the situation is different. A client's books are his property and responsibility he is simply employing you to write them up for him. If they were being done manually the cash books and ledgers would be given to the client along with his paperwork. That they are being kept electronically makes no difference.

On that basis I would send a backup disc to the new accountant if what is on the computer is in effect the client's books. I can't quote case law or anything for the above but maybe someone else can, or correct me if I'm wrong.
  • Sue
    Sue Registered Posts: 217 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Options
    Hi

Are you handing the work over to the Accountant for the end of year accounts to be produced or to a new Bookkeeper?