VERY AFRAID going solo. Advice needed

newme
newme Registered Posts: 9 New contributor 🐸
Hello there
I have 8 years accounting experience working in a an accounting practice.
I know it all
but I am still VERY AFRAID to start my own practice and going solo.

I thought about starting from home but I don't think I would attract those good clients while working from home.

So I have seen this office in a very prominent place with a car park and everything for asking rent of £8000 pa plus I have estimated it would cost me about £12000 year to run the business.

Now the part I am really afraid of is should I!! go for it.
I would appreciate some kind advice on how much (to charge) to expect from different clients and what kind (number) of target I should have in mind..

Realistically how much fee turnover should I expect in my first six mounts or year..
Regards

Comments

Guest Registered Posts: 73 Regular contributor ⭐
    newme wrote: »
    Hello there
    I have 8 years accounting experience working in a an accounting practice.
    I know it all

Now there’s confidence in ones ability
  • groundy
    groundy Registered Posts: 495 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I would be very wary of taking on such large overheads without having an existing client base.

When we starting our practice we purchased a block of fees (approx 60 clients) from an old boss and still only used a small (pretty crappy) office that cost us £50 a week and was filled with second hand furniture and office equipment.

What to charge is all dependent upon the client and the quality of bookkeeping. What I would suggest at first when quoting for new business is to ask to see the previous completed accounts. We used to do this to see what the current accountant was charging then try and undercut it.