Not sure why I was wrong

Options
Barry
Barry Registered Posts: 101 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
This week we did a question at college. It said:

Loogarts financial statements are being prepared to 30 June 20X6. On 20 June 20X6 Loogart moved into new premises and put their existing premises up for sale. Loogart directors have not charged deperciation on the old building.

Discuss the appropriateness of this decision.

I said that it was wrong because the company still owned the building but my tutor said that was the wrong answer but did not tell me why I was wrong:blushing: When I asked he just said "go back to your books" and walked out the room. I am studying DFS.

Can someone help me please.

Comments

• AdamR
    AdamR Registered Posts: 668 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Options
    This may be something to do with IFRS 5: Non-current assets held for sale & discontinued operations. Steve may be able to give you more information as I've got to be elsewhere and so don't have time, but that's where I'd start.

Hope this helps,
  • Steve Collings
    Steve Collings Registered Posts: 997 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Options
    Hi Barry,

"Go back to your books" is not constructive advice from a tutor and certainly does not help you in the revision process. Your tutor is paid to provide a service and you (or your employer) has paid to receive a service. Sometimes I am horrified when I hear student's stories about their experiences with tutors.

Loogart owned a building at the balance sheet (the reporting) date. However, on the assumption that at the balance sheet date, in respect of the old building:

- management committed to a plan to sell the old building;
    - they are actively trying to find a buyer for the old building;
    - the building is available for immediate sale;
    - the sale is highly probable; and
    - the sale is expected to complete within 1 year