AAT to Uni

Options
axl2derv
axl2derv Registered Posts: 172 Dedicated contributor 🦉
Has any members gone on to do a masters at uni after AAT?

Comments

• deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    I did a first degree at Uni after AAT, not a masters though.
  • ademoore
    ademoore Registered Posts: 146 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    CIMA recently got accredited as Masters Degree level, same number of 'points' awarded on completion, if it's the level you are seeking to attain, rather than specifically an MBA!
  • axl2derv
    Options
    With CIMA taking 3 years and an MBA 1 year, I am looking to do the MBA. I can't find an employer to fund CIMA so I am planning to do the Masters followed by a PhD. When I come out of Uni in 4 years time, the jobs market should be better than present.

I have spoke to CIMA and an MBA gives exemption to 4 of the 6 Managerial Level exams. They also stated that more exemptions are possible with a PhD based in Managerial Accounting.
  • deanshepherd
    Options
    I am not sure I understand your logic.

If you are going to do CIMA eventually anyway then why not fund it yourself now?

Funding CIMA is surely cheaper than funding an MBA, depending where you choose to study of course.
  • axl2derv
    Options
    Hi Dean,

I am thinking of the time frame. It is pointless studying CIMA at the moment if I can't get a job in Managerial Accounting along side my study.

With the market being slim and the competition being high, I need to set myself a side from the competition. Holding an MBA and PhD in Managerial Accounting will do that.

Most people either do a BSc or AAT and move on to CIMA then stop. By going that step further you stand out from the competition.

I can finish off the remaining CIMA exams after Uni.
  • Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options