BTC - Basis Period - last minute plea for help!

Options
E=mc2
E=mc2 Registered Posts: 12 New contributor 🐸
Can anyone offer any advice on working out the basis period of account. I am studying from the BPP BTC book and this problem is giving me a headache for sole traders and partnerships.
I understand the tax period 6Apr0X - 05Apr0Y. But working out the basis year and overlap is totally going over my head!

I think I have got to the point now of studying so much im going into brain meltdown, and this only being chapter4 of the book, I figured on it being easier!

Any help much appreciated!

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Options
    Try this link http://www.tolleytraining.co.uk/miscellaneous/demos/BT%20demo%20-%20Manual%20Ch%205.PDF as it describes it quite well.

If you are still stuck then please post again
    Regards,

Burg
  • E=mc2
    Options
    Thank you for the link! Its getting better - just hope it sticks in time for Tuesday!
  • jimmyt1988
    jimmyt1988 Registered Posts: 23 New contributor 🐸
    Options
    Just for information i went through something the other day about this,

draw 3 lines on a piece of paper, from 6/4/07 - 5/4/08, and 6/4/08 - 5/4/09 etc for 3 years, with the first line being the year your start date falls into.

Mark on the lines your Business commencement date, and your first year end date + any year end dates after that.

Your first year is always from the start date, to the end of the first line, apportioning where necessary. For example if your start date is 1st June 2008, your would do 1st June 2008 - 31st March 2009.