Working abroad, Oz

Melegan
Melegan Registered Posts: 16 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi

Does anyone know if the AAT qualification is recognised in Oz and if so if you get any extra points when applying for a visa? Or does anyone know anywhere where it is recognised? Just fancy a change.

Thanks
x
ยซ13

Comments

• mark130273
    mark130273 Registered Posts: 4,234 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    No it is not. You will need to progress to CIMA/ACCA and eventually become a fully fledged accountant. AAT is certainly not recognised. It is not even really given much of a second glance by employers' in the UK.

here here on that one....had a few people look and say in an interview....oh your only AAT !!!:thumbdown:
  • Melegan
    Don't tell me that! So it's not going to be of much benefit, unless I continue?! How depressing!:crying:
  • Melegan
    I have a degree in History. Do you reckon I'd be better to forget about the AAT - only have unit 10 left to complete - and do a PCGE? Just don't know what to do for the best!

Getting confused now!:001_unsure:
  • Paul24
    Paul24 Registered Posts: 578 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    It is readily regarded as micky mouse by employers.

Thats a crock of ****
  • Sonny_L
    Sonny_L Registered Posts: 201 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Chartered Accountancy would be recognised in Oz. Chartered Accountants are always in demand.
  • Sonny_L
    Yeah I know, but just in case she would prefer to stay in accounts I wanted to point out that the further qualifications such as ACA, ACCA etc. would allow her to swan about the globe if she were willing to delay her emmigration for another couple of years.
  • Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    I know there is an Australian AAT, I don't know whether you'd be exempt from some of it as you've done AAT? Might be worth looking at.
  • Melegan
    Thanks for all your posts. I've got a lot of thinking to do.
  • mikes