ACCA or CIMA????

Options
Thomasl1
Thomasl1 Registered Posts: 43 Regular contributor ⭐
Hiya guys. Ive left this really last minute and im torn trying to decide what to do so any advice would be majorly appreciated.

I finished my AAT this week and I am now a full member. I was planning on beginning studying ACCA in september but now i cant decide if i want to do that or CIMA. I have 6 years experience in a financial background and also work as a voluntary treasurer. However I also would like to become an AAT member in practise and set up a small business part time outside work, but I know the ACCA will only let me provide bookkeeping services. Does the same apply with CIMA?
Any feedback anyone can provide on this would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers
Steve

Comments

• slackda
    slackda Registered Posts: 460 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    I'm pretty sure that CIMA doesn;t hold any restrictions, however your not allowed to mention that your a member on any paperwork....if someone can confirm that would be great :D
  • NeilH
    NeilH Registered Posts: 553 Epic contributor 🐘
    Options
    Hi

Yeah, CIMA don't have the same restriction that ACCA has. Also, it is more straightforward to get a CIMA practising certificate when you qualify than it is an ACCA practising certificate.

Neil
  • Thomasl1
    Options
    Thanks guys, that certainly has helped me decide to go with CIMA.
    I now need to decide whether to study with Kaplan, BPP, or other companies like Premier Training. Anybody have an opinion on this????
  • Bookworm55
    Bookworm55 Registered Posts: 479 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    I'm doing CIMA at BPP Cambridge, but won't start any courses until the new year. Also, I'm still waiting to hear what exemptions I've been granted, so don't want to book a course if I don't have to do that exam!