Sage Help

bigmuggsy
bigmuggsy Registered Posts: 92 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi

Just took on a new client who uses Sage, have received all the relevant info from the previous accountant.

My question is how do I adjust the opening balances for this year from my clients figures to the closing balances per the accountant from last years accountants. They differ alot.

I'm relatively new to Sage so all help would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

Comments

• whiterose
    whiterose Registered Posts: 49 Regular contributor ⭐
    Via a journal, assuming that the differences are year-end adjustments.
    Can you isolate what the differences are and how they have come about?
    Am assuming that you have last year's accounts (say to 31st March 09) from the previous accountant and that the year end has been done on your client's Sage (so that it reads 'April 09') bottom right grey toolbar?
    In which case I would pull a transactional nominal activity report for all accounts for the previous year (you can specify the dates) and see where the differences are. Hopefully they are for things like accruals, prepayments, depreciation, and so on.
  • bigmuggsy
    bigmuggsy Registered Posts: 92 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi

Thanks very much for your reply.

Yes, the year end is July 2008 and the previous year end has been done as August 2008 is shown on the bottom right hand side.

I can isolate the differences, they vary from accruals, prepayments etc. So its simply a case of me going in an adjusting via a journal.

Would it be possible for you to give me an example of doing this through the program? As I say I'm quite new to it!

Very much appreciated.
  • whiterose
    whiterose Registered Posts: 49 Regular contributor ⭐